County Photo Identification Cards are available to all county residents age 17 and older. Included on this card are your photo, name, address, date of birth, height, weight, eye and hair color, and signature.
Trade Name Registration
We record your trade name and keep it on record in our Record Room. To register your trade name follow these guidelines:
- Click here to download a Trade Name Registration Guide
- Register Trade Name with County Clerk:
– Present a valid form of identification.
– Validate that the trade name you are registering is not already registered in the county (available in our Records Room).
- Get Tax ID# from IRS.gov.
- Visit the New Jersey Business Registration website for further information.
Salem County Residents Attending Another New Jersey Community College
Students requesting a chargeback must submit the following documents to the Salem County Clerk’s office:
- APPROVED Chargeback Certification form letter from current institution
- Driver’s License
NOTE: If a parent is handling the Chargeback, they MUST have a copy of the student’s drivers license. We cannot proceed with a Residency Certificate without it.
Once complete with the Clerk’s office, the Finance Department will require:
- Computer Printout of Course schedule listing enrolled classes and the total Number of credits. Carbonized advising sheets will not be accepted.
The Salem County Clerk’s Office provides Notary Public services.
- Notary Public Name and/or Address Change Form (pdf). You may also update your name or address online at https://www.njportal.com/DOR/Notary.
- Notarization services are available for a $5 cash fee
– Documents MUST be signed in front of the Notary Public
– Present a Photo ID with your signature
- County Clerk Certificates are available for a $5 fee per certificate – PLEASE NOTE – Certificates are only for a Notary Public registered in SALEM COUNTY
– Original Document that was Notarized by the Notary Public
– Name of the Notary Public
Interested in becoming a Notary?
- Effective January 1, 2022: Those wanting to become a Notary for the first-time will be required to apply ONLINE at: https://www.njportal.com/DOR/Notary. NO paper applications will be accepted.
- Effective July 1, 2022: There will be a 50-question State test to become a NJ Notary Public.
- Cost is $15 for the ‘timed’ test and you will have three (3) attempts to successfully complete the exam.
- All Notary Public stamps MUST include your Commission Number, either handwritten or as part of the stamp itself.
- If Renewing your existing Notary, you must mark
the attestation that you have reviewed the Notary manual.
If you have any questions, please call the State of New Jersey at: 1-609-292-9292
Notary Public Administration of Oath
Performed by the County Clerk. Required prior to being sworn in:
- Photo ID with your signature
- Cash or Check payable to Salem County Clerk’s Office for $15.00
PLEASE NOTE: The date listed on your forms is when received from the State
- County Clerk Oath Qualification Certificate Form and Commission Certificate (within 3 months)
- Notary Public Commission Certificate (within 90 days)
Other links that may be of interest:
As per A1423: A notary public who is not licensed as an attorney-at- law shall not use or advertise the title of lawyer or attorney-at-Law. A Notary who advertises his services must provide a statement “I am not an attorney licensed to practice law and may not give legal advice about immigration or any other legal matter or accept fees for legal advice.”